It is crunch time, and we need your help…

August 6, 2014 at 1:46 pm 14 comments

naming our baby. Let me explain.

While it is obvious that we do not have any issues naming our cars (“Snowflake, “Big Pearl”, and “Coalflake”), our dogs (“Myles” and “Floyd”), the lawnmower (“Jim”), or the Garter snake that has recently inhabited our pool skimmer (“Clementine”), we are regrettably at a loss when it comes to naming Baby #2. I meant honestly, how does one possibly compete with a name like Rex? Rex is a) easy to spell/say, b) can’t be mistaken for a girls name and c) allows for great nicknames like “Sexy Rexy” and “T-Rex”. By far, the most important characteristic of the name Rex, however, and as any moms of boys already know, is the fact I have never, ever dated one. 🙂

Now, of course you are probably wondering why are we choosing to utilize Social Media and the Internet to deliberate over such a momentous and significant life event? Who does that right? I mean it is kinda akin to hosting a Flip Cup Tournament and serving Costco Cake at your (okay, our) wedding.  Perhaps I just figured that since I work to sell the value of crowd-sourcing in my day job (Go Jive Software!), I oughta start practicing what I preach. (Maybe it will help to drive up our stock price?) Well, actually, our real reason stems more from the fact that since Dane and I are clearly at a standstill,  if you all don’t help us out, we will be forced to let Rex name the baby. And it should be known that at the moment he is pretty much set on the name “Blah Blah BLUE!”. (emphasis on the world “BLUE”) I don’t know about you, but I am pretty sure a name like that would lead to a lifetime of, uh, challenges for the poor kid.

Judge my poor (and totally tasteless) parenting skills if you will, but just realize that while you are doing so, you should also focus on the fact that I occasionally allow my kid to get down on all fours and drink from the dog bowl (everyone deserves to be part of a pack, right?), have a sugar cookie for breakfast (don’t tell Dane), and play with the water hose while we are in the midst of a severe drought. (This one I’m not proud of, but if it gives me 5-10 minutes of peace and quiet at the end of the night, so be it) Oh, I should also add that I am a mom whose instinct it is to grab a

This was just prior to the "situation" at the petting zoo.

This was just prior to the “situation” at the petting zoo.

camera to capture the hilarious moment said (albeit sobbing) child gets bumped by a calf, trips over a goat and lands on a sheep inside of a petting zoo. (Dane insists that I point out that he did not find the whole cow/goat/sheep episode as funny as I did.) Heck, it builds character. Anyway, I figure that appealing to my Facebook friends (particularly the random girl that I met at airport three years ago and have yet to un-friend) to provide feedback on something as important as my kids’ name is par for the course in my world. I have never claimed to be much of the conventional mom type. I was, of course, raised by the infamous “Ma Self”.

So yeah, I guess at this point the cat is out of the bag. (Unless the recent purchase of “Big Pearl”, the minivan, had already given it away.) Dane and I decided to put the challenges we had welcoming Baby Rex into this world behind us, and give Rex, Myles and Floyd a little brother. (Actually, I decided it was time to give them all a little sister, but oh well, sometimes these things are beyond our control.) “Baby Boy Thompson” is due on October 3rd and hopefully no earlier this time around. Luckily it has been an uneventful pregnancy, unless you want to count a little bout of “evening sickness” one night on the shoulder of I-80 West. I think that was the first time I have “been sick” since the “ICE 101” incident oh so long ago. (Thanks Abby and Janet)

Stereotypical U/S picture to accompany a baby announcement.

Stereotypical U/S picture to accompany a baby announcement.

I am currently 31.5 weeks and the baby is already measuring the size that Rex was when he was born at 33 weeks. That means he is currently the size of a large Jicama, whatever that is. I informed my doctor that we were really hoping for a nice 7 or 8lb baby this time around and he said “me too, but I’ll remind you of that when you are in labor.”  I appreciate a doctor with good sense of humor.  Truth be told, I actually changed doctors this time around, for no other reason than just being superstitious.  (I could not part with the Quaker Oats Peanut Butter Granola Bars this time around though, too essential to my survival) While I did change doctors, I did not change Hospitals so ironically when I started my NST Testing yesterday, they put me in the exact same room that I was put in with Rex postpartum. While it is not my fondest memory of that hospital, I am happy to see that they still offer Fish Tank TV, a personal favorite of mine.

As for Rex, we like to think that he is excited. He knows where his little brother is and will sometimes pat him gently, but other times not so much.  In fact, I am often forced to stop him mid “dive bomb lil’ brother.” (Yes, that is exactly what it sounds like) In my blissful pregnant mind I have images of him being super helpful when the new baby arrives. Bringing mommy diapers and reading to little “Blah Blah Blue”. Granted, when I was pregnant with Rex, I thought that I was going to spend my maternity leave relaxing by the pool with my sweet baby boy cooing softly beside me. That clearly didn’t happen.

Here is the #1 Big Brother himself. And mommy. (4th of July)

Here is the #1 Big Brother himself. And mommy. (4th of July)

In regards to preparing for our little bundle of joy, we really haven’t done much this time around. I mean I guess the good thing about having another boy is the fact that I am saving us a ton of money. Had I found out that we were having a girl, I am pretty sure that I would have bought out every pink, princess and tulle item that I could find. Sigh.  Our only project at the moment, is to decorate what will soon become Rex’s “new room” in cars, trucks and construction equipment.  We are making a futile attempt to entice Rex out of his crib and into a “big boy bed”, but Rex just sees this new room more as his “other room”.

Sibling rivalry and introducing Rex to the new baby, is something that I know very little about — I was, after all, and only child. On the plus side, I have raised two male-ish dogs however, so I figure how hard can it be? I think my biggest challenge (apart from the name) is remembering what you do with a newborn.  I technically have never been responsible for one before as the last time I went through this, there were two to four nurses, a doctor, and a Respitory Therapist at my beckon call. Oh well, I guess that is what the Google is for. In regards to Labor, well, I watched a cow do it a couple of weeks ago at the State Fair and she wasn’t complaining. I just have to force myself to think like a cow.

And so with that, I come back to my original reason for posting. The name. Consider it your Community Service for the day. You will be sparing a boy from going through life known only as “Blah Blah BLUE”. I’ll tell you what, if you help us out, I promise that I will let you be the first to know of his arrival….you know, with a post to Facebook 🙂

Entry filed under: Baby #2, Rex. Tags: , , .

What a Long, Strange Trip It’s Been “Almost only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades…”

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tassiegirl1978  |  August 6, 2014 at 2:45 pm

    How about “Bubba Thompson”… sounds famous? Other suggestions – “Tasman” and “Andy”

    Reply
    • 2. daneandangela  |  August 6, 2014 at 3:04 pm

      “Bubba”, pretty funny 🙂 Dane thought it would be fun to name him “Mack” as in Mack Truck. Kinda the same genre!

      Reply
  • 3. Jessie  |  August 6, 2014 at 7:33 pm

    Since Rex means king in Latin, maybe Royce, for prince in old English?

    Reply
    • 4. Jessie  |  August 6, 2014 at 7:37 pm

      Or Brendan 🙂

      Reply
      • 5. daneandangela  |  August 8, 2014 at 3:40 pm

        Royce is good! And a prince is still royalty!

  • 6. joleine  |  August 6, 2014 at 8:31 pm

    I’m a huge fan of Caleb. It means “whole hearted” 🙂

    Reply
    • 7. daneandangela  |  August 8, 2014 at 3:40 pm

      I like that name as well, although it makes me think of the dad on the O.C. I really miss that show!

      Reply
  • 8. Debbie  |  August 7, 2014 at 8:50 am

    Ok…Here are mine: Zachery, Tanner, Cooper, and Sawyer:)

    Reply
    • 9. daneandangela  |  August 8, 2014 at 3:39 pm

      Debbie – Sawyer has definitely been at the top of my list. If only I could convince Dane…

      Reply
  • 10. Norma Bohannon  |  August 8, 2014 at 3:30 am

    Hey Big A…here’s a thought. How. About Sophus! That would make 2 people ever to be named that. Or, how about Tex. It sounds big and important! Rex and Tex….has a ring to it. Guess you’ll never want my opinion again. Love ya’all.

    Reply
    • 11. daneandangela  |  August 8, 2014 at 3:38 pm

      Ha. I thought about “Sophus” at one point but I didn’t know how to spell it! You and my mom think alike as she has also been pushing a “Tex”. Not gonna happen! 🙂

      Reply
  • 12. Brian  |  August 8, 2014 at 9:56 pm

    Photon

    Reply
  • 13. Ma Self  |  August 9, 2014 at 11:50 am

    Ma Self here. Actually, I rather like Photon. When calling him home for dinner you can yell, “Yo, Pho!” I know how to spell Sophus, but not Dad’s middle name, which was Lavinius (sp). Everyone called him “Jack”. How about brothers Arvid or Mendolph? Good Norwegion names. You can tell that their parents had just gotten off the boat.

    Reply
  • 14. Nancy Klemm  |  September 14, 2014 at 7:22 pm

    Aunt Nancy here. It really is down to crunch time now! How about Dane, or Kris? How about Bill, after your old dog…or Paul, after your old dad? I can’t wait to see his cute little face! Love you guys!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


